Experimentation

This week, I’ve been experimenting with a variety of techniques.  This hat was an experiment with designing fair isle.  I like the way that it shows off the colors of the variegated yarn.

Geometric Hat

I’m not so fond of the technique I tried to hide the seam.  I tried knitting into the current stitch and the first stitch of the previous row together (a technique I’ve had a lot of success with in the past), but I don’t like the way that it turned out with this particular pattern.  However, I do really like the way that the crown turned out.

Geometric Hat

I have also experimented with a new crochet stitch.  In the new place, I decided that I wanted a basket to hold my WIPs.  I’m looking at some large projects in the next few weeks, so I knew I needed something substantial.  I also wanted to use up some of my worsted weight yarn.  So, I used this Abstract Crochet Cats stitch (this post also has a really good video tutorial).

Abstract Cats Basket

However, the basket ended up far too floppy.  So, I’m also experimenting with starching.  However, I’m not sure what I chose truly counts as starching.  I mixed equal parts Elmer’s glue and water.  I put the basket over a box that was a close size, and brushed the glue mixture liberally over the basket.  It’s still drying, so we’ll have to see how stiff it ends up.

Abstract Cats Basket

Do you enjoy experimenting with your projects?  What are you currently working on?

Leave a Reply

