Hexagon ZigZag Market Bag Free Pattern

Hexagon ZigZag Market Bag Free Pattern by Nic's KnitsPhew!  We are finally moved into our new apartment.  I am super excited about the room I have for my stash.  I am also excited about the weekly farmers’ market right across the street, and I have finished up a pattern just in time!

IMG_6072

I previewed this pattern a few weeks ago.  I was initially inspired by a stash of yarn I had been gifted.  Most of the yarn had bright, beautiful colors, but was rather scratchy.  These market bags were the perfect way to celebrate the colors while taking advantage of the sturdiness of that yarn.

 

Hexagon ZigZag Market Bag Free Pattern by Nic's Knits

When I previewed the pattern, I pointed out that the pattern is highly customizeable.  As written, the bags will easily stretch to 36 inches in circumference.  For a smaller bag, simply cut repeats of the increase in the base.  For a larger bag, add repeats of the increases.  Likewise, the handles can be adapted to your preferences.  I like the handles to be large enough I can fit them over my shoulder.  You can make them larger or smaller by changing the number of stitches added in row ten of the handles, as long as you use an odd number of stitches.  The mesh also has many opportunities for customization.  I used a zigzag pattern, but you can get very different looks by playing with the repeats in the mesh section.

Hexagon ZigZag Market Bag Free Pattern by Nic's Knits

This bag knits up quickly and easily.  Enjoy knitting this fun market bag!

Hexagon ZigZag Market Bag Free Pattern by Nic’s Knits

Leave a Reply

